The Hon. Robert Hawke AC


The Hon. Robert Hawke AC is a member of CEDA's Board of Governors, an advisory body comprised of eminent Australians.

The Hon. Robert Hawke AC was Prime Minister of Australia from 1983 to 1991.

After graduating from the University of Western Australia, he won a Rhodes Scholarship to Oxford University. On returning to Australia, he worked for the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) and was ACTU President from 1970 to 1980.

The Hon. Robert Hawke was elected to Federal Parliament in 1980, and he became Prime Minister in 1983. He resigned from Parliament in February 1992, having been Australia's longest-serving Labor Prime Minister.

Current honorary positions include: Member of the Board of Advisers of the Boao Forum for Asia; Chairman, The Hawke Research Institute Advisory Board; Chairman, Trade Union Education Foundation; Member of the Advisory Board, Deliberative Issues Australia; and Patron of Indigenous Engineering Aid.

View full list of Governors.

2 Install pixel base code The pixel base code tracks activity on your website, providing a baseline for measuring specific events. Copy the base code below and paste it between the header tags on every page of your website: