Cost of Carbon Series - Nuclear Power

Cost of Carbon Series - Nuclear Power

May 18

For registration information please contact Sharon Braun on 03 9652 8409



Dr Ziggy Switkowski, Former Chairman, ANSTO
Professor Anthony D Owen, Academic Director and Santos Chair of Energy Resources, UCL School of Energy and Resources
Paul Hyslop, Chief Executive Officer, ACIL Tasman

 Public event
 Shangri-La Hotel, 176 Cumberland Street, Sydney, NSW

 Climate policy
 Lunch (12.00pm to 2.00pm)



Members, log in for event audio and presentations.
If you are not a member, see why you should become a CEDA member .


In 2011 CEDA will enter the important debate and discussion around a carbon price with a national series of forums.

The Cost of Carbon series will assess implications for the Emissions Intensive Trade Exposed industry, a low carbon economy, impact on the community and energy options.

At the first event for the series, panellists will examine the viability for nuclear power in Australia.

The nuclear accident in Japan has sparked a rethink by many governments on their level of commitment to nuclear energy. In Australia, any chances for future bi-partisan political support and community acceptance for nuclear power appears to have taken a setback, at least in the short term.

This CEDA forum will provide a far sighted and objective reflection on prospects for nuclear energy in Australia, especially in the light of the Fukushima incident.

What will be the political, economic and social hurdles which need to be overcome in order for nuclear to be considered as a viable source of baseload power for Australia? And will current and future technological advancements alleviate concerns surrounding safety?


Robyn Williams AM 
Presenter, ABC Radio National
Science Show

Robyn Williams AM is a decorated science journalist and broadcaster who currently hosts Radio National's Science Show, Ockham's Razor and In Conversation. He has conducted countless interviews with scientists on ABC TV and was the first journalist elected as a Fellow Member of the Australian Academy of Science.


Professor Anthony D Owen
Academic Director and Santos Chair of Energy Resources
UCL School of Energy and Resources

Professor Tony Owen As Academic Director, Professor Owen leads the academic faculty at the UCL School of Energy and Resources. He is an acknowledged thought leader in the field of energy economics and has held visiting appointments at the Universities of British Columbia, Colorado, Leeds and Exeter, OECD and IEA in Paris, and the UK Department of Energy (Harwell).

Dr Ziggy Switkowski
Former Chair of the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organization

Dr Ziggy Switkowski was previously Chairman of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and in 2006, he chaired the Prime Minister's Review of Uranium Mining, Processing and Nuclear Energy which returned nuclear power to the country's strategic debate. He has a PhD in nuclear physics from the University of Melbourne and is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Paul Hyslop
Chief Executive Officer, ACIL Tasman

Paul Hyslop Paul has more than twenty years' experience in the energy sector with particular involvement in electricity and gas. He has worked in a broad range of areas including business management, business development, mergers and acquisitions, business regulation, energy market development and regulation and power system operation.

Sponsorship opportunities are available to CEDA members. For details please contact Steven Liu on 02 9779 9748.


Registration Fees (Including GST)


CEDA Members and Guests

$154.00 per person
$1463.00 corporate table


$264.00 per person

Please click here for a hardcopy registration form


This page contains member only content

This page contains exclusive member only content. CEDA members can login to access this content. To enquire about the benefits of CEDA membership contact us.