Priorities in Australia's banking industry

Priorities in Australia's banking industry

Mar 20
CEDA NSW/ACT is delighted to welcome Australian Banking Association, Chief Executive Officer, the Honourable Anna Bligh AC to the 2019 Trustee program.


The Hon. Anna Bligh AC, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Banking Association

Event overview

Guest speaker Anna Bligh AC will discuss increasing stability, competition and access to Australia’s banking industry, referencing the ABA’s six-point plan to protect consumer interests, increase transparency and accountability, and the role of social licence to operate.

This briefing is by invitation only to CEDA Trustees. Trustees are senior leaders nominated by CEDA member organisations. At CEDA boardroom briefings Trustees hear from an informed, expert guest speaker in a private, small group setting. Invitations to boardroom briefings are a valued benefit of CEDA membership. Chatham House Rule applies.

Meet the speaker

The Hon. Anna Bligh AC
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Banking Association

Anna Bligh is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Banking Association. Her priorities include strengthening the culture in banking and delivering the right outcomes for customers.

Anna has had a long and distinguished career in politics, and was the Premier of Queensland for almost five years until March 2012. She was also Deputy Premier and Treasurer of Queensland and held ministerial responsibilities in Education, Social Welfare, Arts, Economic and State Development and Infrastructure.

Prior to joining the ABA, Anna was the CEO of YWCA NSW, a not-for-profit organisation striving to build a safer world for women and children with programs and services dedicated to ending domestic violence.

In recognition of her eminent service to the Parliament of Queensland, and as an advocate for education, the role of women in public life and services to the not-for-profit sector, Anna received a Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia award in the 2017 Australia Day Honours list.

Kindly hosted by CEDA member: