Energy: Australia's national hydrogen strategy

Energy: Australia's national hydrogen strategy

Sep 24
Hear from Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel on the latest work to develop and implement a national strategy for hydrogen energy in Australia.


Dr Alan Finkel AO, Chief Scientist of Australia
Jeff Connolly, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Siemens
Terry Burgess, Co-Chair, Hydrogen Economy Steering Committee
Vince Duffy, Executive Director, Energy and Technical Regulation Division, Department for Energy and Mining

Event overview

There is consensus across States, Territories and the Federal Government that hydrogen has a key role to play in Australia’s energy future, with Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Alan Finkel overseeing the COAG Energy Council’s development of a national hydrogen strategy.

The strategy will look to develop a co-ordinated approach to projects and programs to support industry development and address key questions:

  • how can Australia realise the vision to be a major player in the global hydrogen energy industry by 2030? and
  • what role will the sector play in an economically, socially and environmentally sustainable and prosperous future?

With the national strategy to be finalised and presented to state energy ministers in December 2019, this is your opportunity to help shape work on the development of one of Australia’s exciting growth opportunities.

Dr Finkel will be joined on stage with industry leaders to provide their own insight and understanding of Australia’s Hydrogen future.

Event presentations

Dr Alan Finkel AO, Chief Scientist of Australia MP3

Moderated discussion MP3

Delegate handout PDF

Meet the keynote speaker

Dr Alan Finkel AO
Chief Scientist of Australia

Dr Finkel commenced as Australia’s Chief Scientist in January 2016. He is Australia’s eighth Chief Scientist. Dr Finkel has an extensive science background as an entrepreneur, engineer, neuroscientist and educator. Prior to becoming Chief Scientist, he was the Chancellor of Monash University and President of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE).  

Meet the panel

Terry Burgess
Co-Chair, Hydrogen Economy Steering Committee

Terry Burgess has over 40 years’ international and Australian experience in the mining industry.He has been active with the Tonsley Innovation District, in southern Adelaide, since late 2014 and is Chair of the Tonsley Steering Committee. Through Tonsley, he has been involved in the hydrogen economy, autonomous vehicles, assessing 5G in industrial applications and the “factory of the future”.

Vince Duffy
Executive Director, Energy and Technical Regulation Division, Department for Energy and Mining

Vince is the Executive Director in the Energy and Technical Regulation Division for the Department for Energy and Mining. he is currently involved in energy market reform issues, primarily economic regulation, National Electricity Market issues and sustainability, since joining the Electricity Reform & Sales Unit (ERSU) in August 1999.

Dr Fiona Simon
Chief Executive Officer, Hydrogen Mobility Australia

Dr Simon has extensive policy and regulatory experience across the energy sector covering areas including retail consumer protections and market competition, electric vehicles and energy security. She has also written a well-regarded academic book on energy retail policy and regulation.

Ben Wilson
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Gas Infrastructure

Ben Wilson is Chief Executive Officer of Australian Gas Infrastructure Group, which comprises Dampier Bunbury Pipeline, Dampier Development Group, Multinet Gas, and Australian Gas Networks. Together these represent one of Australia’s largest gas infrastructure businesses, active nationwide, with two million distribution customers, 3500 km of transmission pipelines, and 34,000 km of networks. AGIG recently developed the Tubridgi gas storage project in northern WA and is partnering with the SA government on Australia’s largest renewable hydrogen project, Hydrogen Park SA. Ben became CEO of AGN in 2015 and of AGIG in 2017.

Meet the chair

Jeff Connolly
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Siemens

Jeff Connolly is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Siemens in the Australia Pacific region. With 380,000 employees worldwide, Siemens is the leader in industrial software, automation and electrification technologies. In addition to leading Siemens in the region, Jeff Connolly is instrumental in areas such as the Germany-Australia relationship, Industry 4.0, the future of energy and smart infrastructure.

Supported by CEDA member

Major sponsor

Further sponsorship available:

Align your brand with CEDA and communicate with hard-to-reach business, government and policy leaders by sponsoring this event. Contact Sharon Simmons on 08 8211 7222 or email