Leadership | Diversity | Inclusion

CEDA AGM: Diane Smith-Gander AO new CEDA Chair

High-profile business leader Diane Smith-Gander AO has taken the reins as Chairman following CEDA’s AGM.

Ms Smith-Gander takes over from Paul McClintock AO who has served as Chairman since 2014.

In addition to the appointment of Ms Smith-Gander, Siemens Australia and New Zealand CEO and Chairman Jeff Connolly also joined the Board.

Mr Connolly joins other recent Board appointees including AMP Capital Funds Management Chairman Ming Long, University of Melbourne Truby Williams Professor of Economics, Professor Jeff Borland, and Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM.

Retiring from the CEDA Board at the AGM were longstanding board members Stephen Spargo, Andrew Stevens and Patricia Faulkner, while Professor Rod Maddock stepped down earlier in the year.

CEDA CEO Melinda Cilento said Ms Smith-Gander brings a wealth of experience from corporate Australia combined with a keen interest in progressing social issues, a great alignment with CEDA’s purpose.  

“While the contributions of departing board members will be missed, we have been fortunate to attract to the Board an extraordinary depth of economic and corporate experience to provide the leadership to lift CEDA’s voice and impact in pursuing solutions to policy issues in the long-term national interest,” she said.

“I would like to acknowledge the tremendous work of the outgoing Chairman and also Board members, who have each been responsible for chairing key CEDA Board committees.

“Their input, commitment and support of CEDA has been outstanding and ensured CEDA is well placed to continue advancing good public policy in Australia.

“In particular, Paul has been a wise hand at the helm, leading the work to reenergise and reposition CEDA to have a greater impact on public policy.”

Related content: CEDA announces new Board appointments and Diane Smith-Gander as Chair elect.